A different kind of running

Here goes round two of blogging.  The first time I last a whole 20 days so hopefully this time it sticks.  I started this blog to keep up with my running journey and Colin’s Ironman journey.  Well after we did the Savannah Rock n Roll, Colin hurt his knee and wasn’t able to do much working out at all.  Since he couldn’t run I didn’t want to make him jealous so I cut back on my running, too. (That’s my story and I’m sticking to it)  This probably wasn’t a very smart thing for me to do because I had another half marathon on the books for the end of December.  I’m not sure how many miles I did in the end of November, I was Garminless at the time, but in December I ran a whopping 24.5 miles.  Then on the 28th I went and ran a PR…. it was only by 26 seconds but that’s 2 seconds per mile with not much training!  Anyways after that race I felt exhausted for about a week.  I thought it was just because I over exerted myself without proper training but it turned out I had a 36 hour bout of the flu which then progressed into bronchitis.  All of that lead me to taking about 6 weeks off from running because my lungs felt like they were going to explode when I tried.

chicken

That is the only kind of running that was going on for me. I felt like I had so much going on but wasn’t getting much accomplished during those 6 weeks.  Fortunately (but also super sad) I had Brice’s 1st birthday party to keep me busy!!  I can’t believe our baby is already a year old.  I wasn’t planning on doing a very detailed party, but with all this free time on my hands I was able to Pinterest quite a bit and planned a fun race car themed birthday party for him.  All the kids seemed to have a good time and judging by this picture Brice did too!

Brice run

One day I’ll make an entire post about his party and all the fun food and decorations that we had.  Fortunately for now, Colin and I are both feeling great and training full speed ahead.  Due to being sick I missed a half marathon that was a local race and I am still very upset about it.  This was the 4th year of the event and I have yet to run it! 2011 I didn’t know about it, 2012 I was too burnt out from doing the Ironman 70.3 and another half marathon, 2013 I had just given birth two weeks prior, and then this year I was sick!  I’ve set my eyes on another small localish (about 45 minutes away) race that is on April 5th.  I had a few good runs last week and was able to squeeze in 3 miles while Brice napped yesterday, so hopefully I can put in some good work over the next few weeks. I just have to stay focused because I can’t have a repeat of pushing too hard and getting sick like I did at my last race.

Colin is going full speed ahead, as usual :), with his training.  He’s been waking up at 4:45 a couple days of week to spend a few hours on the trainer before work.  The other days he’s still up early to go swim or run.  His Ironman 70.3 is only 6.5 weeks away and I know he’s going to do great!  That also means the full Ironman monster is now 7 months away.  On the weekends if we feel like sleeping in a little bit, this is what we have to do….

IMG_2848[1]

Squeezed in our workouts during nap time!  Brice is obsessed with the trainer which makes it impossible for Colin to cycle while he’s up and running around.  I had a cross training day where I did 20 reps each of Ab mat crunches, push ups, and squats with a 1 minute plank (repeated 5 times) and I felt the burn!!

Have you ever been forced to take a break from exercising?  How did you spend all the free time you had??

4 responses to “A different kind of running

  1. Hey girl, welcome back!!! Sorry to hear about your workout hiatus. I’ve been there. A few years ago, I broke my foot and was out of commission for 6 weeks. It sucks because I broke it 2 WEEKS before my first half marathon. Boo. Anyway, I watched lots of TV and read a lot. It helped that my boyfriend entertained me wtih movie dates and making me dinner a lot 🙂

    • Ouch! That sounds painful! If I ever broke my foot I think I would require lots of movie dates and dinners too. 🙂

    • Next year for sure!! I’m glad I’m back too so now we can get back to our weekend long runs!

Leave a Reply

