Let’s get nutty

I’ve come to a realization.  I am using a whole lot of coconut products.  I feel like coconut oil and products are popping up everywhere, and I didn’t start using them as a fad.  For me, it was a very gradual overtaking of the coconut.  In fact, I used to hate coconut.  I remember being in preschool and my teacher had just gotten back from Hawaii so she threw us a Hawaiian themed party.  That was the first time I tried coconut and I was so disgusted by it I still remember it 20 something years later!!  Many, many years later I was introduced to the Almond Joy and my relationship with coconut changed.

I decided to do a little research to see if coconut is as good as its’ hype and this is the first thing I discovered:

coconutFound this little gem here and since it’s on the internet, it has to be true.  Don’t worry there is a more legit article about that fact.  A little more research and I found the Coconut Research Center’s site. (Y’all I swear this is true)  “Early Spanish explorers called it coco, which means “monkey face” because the three indentations (eyes) on the hairy nut resembles the head and face of a monkey.” Okay this is getting out of hand!

The more I read, the more I’m convinced that coconut oil really is a cure-all.  It has been used for years in traditional medicine, but has slowly made its way into modern medicine.  Pacific Islanders use it to treat everything from asthma to an upset stomach.  Through modern medicine it has been discovered that coconut oil is a natural antibiotic, supports tissue repair, gives boosts of energy, and supports thyroid function. Not sure about you but these are all things that I will benefit from.

Here are the ways I’ve been using coconut products:

1. Coconut oil as face wash.  This one started a little over a year ago.  The hormones from being pregnant/nursing made my skin look terrible.  I had breakouts all the time and they left little pink scarring on my face.  I can’t remember if it was right before or after Brice was born when I started using coconut oil but since I was either pregnant or nursing I didn’t want to try a new face washes that had harmful chemicals in them.  That’s when I started looking for natural alternatives and decided I’d give coconut oil a shot.  I figured no harm in trying! I could cook with the stuff if it didn’t work for my face.  I simply wet my face and took a quarter size scoop of coconut oil and rubbed it on my face as if it was normal face wash.  Then using a wash cloth and warm water, wipe it off.  Within about a week I started noticing improvements.  The breakouts had stopped and after a while my skin started getting back to normal.  To this day I still use it and my skin has never looked or felt better.  I don’t need to put any lotion on at night, plus I smell delicious!! The pictures below are just 7 months apart (I may be trying to distract you a little by putting Brice in the pictures) but on the left you can see the redness on my chin, cheeks and forehead.  On the right I have on no makeup and no redness!!  I used nothing on my face other than coconut oil (plus my daily moisturizer + sunscreen).

skin

2. Coconut milk in my smoothies and coffee.  This one started not really by choice either.  After Brice was born I realized he didn’t tolerate me drinking cow’s milk very well.  He would get all congested in his throat and when I cut out cow’s milk, that went away. Also, I believe Colin is lactose intolerant so we decided to do away with the cow’s milk.  One day at the store they had just a few containers of coconut milk in the milk section so we decided to try it.  We loved which didn’t surprise me because we make a coconut green curry dish that is awesome.  When we went back to the store the next week, they didn’t have any! Finally, several months later, our grocery store started keeping it in stock regularly and it has become a staple for us.

3. Desserts.  I like sweets. Okay, it’s more like I love sweets and when I cut out milk I really missed frozen yogurt.  When I found these I was so excited!

so del

so del 2The mini ice cream sandwiches were really, really good and a perfect substitute for the real deal.  Since thin I have tried the chocolate and vanilla coconut milk ice cream (all made by So Delicious) and love them all.  The ice cream was buy one get one at our grocery store last week so you bet I got two!  As our grocery store gets more flavors I’ll be trying those out too.  You need to like the flavor of coconut though because even in the chocolate you can taste it, sort of like a Mounds or Almond Joy!

4. This stuff:

IMG_3072[1]I’ve introduced Greek yogurt back into my diet because (a.) it’s delicious and (b.) it’s healthy with calcium, protein, probiotics and all that other good stuff.  I could eat this flavor every day and to be honest, between Colin and myself, we usually do!  The also have several other good flavors but this is, by far, my favorite.

Have you tried any coconut products?  What’s your favorites?

4 responses to “Let’s get nutty

  1. I use coconut oil in cooking and on my hair 🙂 and coconut sugar instead of normal sugar and coconut flour in baking. Apparently, I use a lot of coconut products too!

  2. Okay, weird.. but I LOVE the smell of coconut but I hate the way it tastes. I can do coconut oil and I do use coconut oil shampoo and conditioner in my hair but that is where the line is drawn for me.

    • I love the smell too, it reminds me of summer! I think that is part of the reason I used to not like the taste. I felt like I was eating sunscreen! Like olives, it has been an acquired taste for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

