Unplanned rest

Sometimes life happens and you have an unplanned rest day.  That is what happened to me yesterday.  We had some friends in town that wanted to get together for dinner and Colin and I were excited to be able to spend some time with them.  They are expecting a sweet baby girl in June so it was fun to be able to talk babies.  Time with friends is more important than lifting a few weights anyway!

IMG_3099[1] Best burgers in town!  I would have had time to squeeze in a quick workout but, our plan was to meet at 7:15 so I had to make sure that Brice was well rested.  I didn’t fall asleep until 6 so another rest day it was!  I’ve been happy with my workouts this week and I’m not following any sort of real training plan right now so it was no big deal.  Before Brice’s nap we had to make sure we had a good snack and enjoy some pretty weather!

IMG_3095[1]

 

When I got in to work this morning these guys were sitting right outside of my office just waiting to be eaten.IMG_3100[1]

I’m not real sure why this lady has a picture of her and her dog on her business cards when her business has nothing to do with animals.  Maybe because dogs make people happy? I don’t care her reasoning though since she brought us cookies.  Rest day + burger + fries + chocolate cookies?? Sometimes you just have to live a little. 🙂

Do unplanned rest days completely throw you off, or are you able to just go with the flow?

3 responses to “Unplanned rest

  1. I don’t love unplanned rest days but I usually just reorganize my schedule for the rest of the week to make sure I still get all my workouts in. I’m not one of those people who cares if I miss one for a real reason if I’m injured or sick or something like that though, I’ll take as much time as I need happily 🙂

    • Reorganizing the week is a good idea. If something comes up and I miss my long run I definitely will move things around to fit it in!

  2. Pingback: Well, which day is it? | I run He tris·

Leave a Reply

