Well, which day is it?

This is the second time I’ve started to write this post.  It’s storming here right now and I think the lightning just made our internet go crazy and didn’t save anything.

I was playing with my watch (Garmin) the other day to explore the other 100 different functions/features that I don’t know about.  I found where it will give weekly and month totals.  When I clicked on it and saw the mileage, I knew that it had to have started on Sunday.  This confused me because I had always thought of my training week as beginning on a Monday.  I looked on my other watch (non Garmin) and the little day of the week chronograph has Sunday at the top, making it seem like Sunday is the first day of the week.  My dry erase board calendar at home also starts on Sunday.  Also, the calendar on the phone has the week starting on Monday.  Then I started wondering why I had viewed my training week  as starting on a Monday.  It dawned on me that every single training plan I have ever looked at or followed starts on a Monday. Now that I have that all straightened out here is my workouts for the week, Sunday 3/9 – Saturday 3/16.

Sunday:  I ran 6 miles.  It took me three separate times to get it done, but I did it.  The first 3.67 were done on the treadmill during nap time while Colin was out riding his bike.  When Colin got home he wanted to do a brick workout so we put Brice in the stroller and went out for a family jog.  Brice started getting fussy just short of two miles so we split off and headed back to the house while Colin kept going.  After getting back to the house and knowing that I was at 5.67 for the day it was driving me crazy.  Once Brice calmed back down for a bit I put him back in the stroller and did a quick run around the block to round out my 6 miles for the day.  My average pace for the day was right below 8:20 mpm which I was very happy with.

IMG_3052

Monday: I did a HIIT workout to get my strength training in. Started with a half mile warm up on the treadmill followed by 4 rounds of: 10 push ups, 10 kettle bell swings, 10 squats, 1 minute plank, quarter-mile sprint.  Then followed it up with half mile cool down. That gave me 2 miles total.  This one left me sore for quite a few days!!

IMG_3067

Tuesday: Rest day. Stretched and rolled.

Wednesday: I did half mile repeats during this run. I warmed up with a mile then did four half mile repeats (all between 8:05 – 7:45 mpm) with two minute recoveries in between.  Finished it off with just under a mile of a cool down for a total of 4.5 miles.  My legs were still sore from my workout on Monday so this was pretty tough run.  It was also very windy which made me feel like I was pushing harder at certain points. It was feeling like spring and it was nice to wear shorts and a tank!   I averaged 8:23 mpm for the run so I can’t complain too much!

IMG_3085

Thursday: Unplanned rest day.

Friday: On Friday I didn’t have much time to work out because we were having friends over for dinner.  I did a quick workout of 10 burpees, 10 push ups, 10 ab-mat crunches, then when to 9 of everything, 8 of everything all the way down to 1 of everything.  If I did my math correctly, that is a total of 109 of each.  Quick, easy and got the job done!

DSCN3063

Saturday: I woke up much later than I wanted to get up.  As soon as I woke up though I jumped up, got dressed and got out the door.  Colin was meeting a group to ride so my time was limited. I checked the weather before I left and it was still in the 40s so I knew I needed to layer up. I didn’t eat anything before the run so I just decided to take it nice and easy.  I had my Garmin with me but didn’t even look at it.  I ended up doing 4 miles with the following paces: 9:01, 8:56, 8:56, 8:46.  I was happy with the negative splits and staying pretty consistent without even focusing on my pace at all.

IMG_3107

That was a total of 16.5 miles and two strength sessions for the week which is good for my real first week back of training!  To make my mileage look total lame Colin swam about 5,500 yards, biked 165 and ran 25 miles last week.  But I guess that’s the difference in someone who isn’t training for anything very specific and someone who has a half Ironman in a month!!

How was your week of training?

Any races coming up??

4 responses to “Well, which day is it?

  1. Awesome week for you! I am officially starting tomorrow at 5 am and my yoga mat and weights are laid out by my bike. Maybe one of these days I will get it off the trainer and on the road again!! How did that windy run end up?

    • We need to go out for a leisurely ride so I can remember what it feels like to be on the bike! After I saw you I ran about 2 more minutes then headed home. I swear that wind was blowing in every direction!

  2. This week was kind of a mess with moving our dogs back to VA and taking about 1/3 of our stuff back. I missed like 3 days and lost my computer cord and had a broken phone on top of everything so it all felt crazed. Ready to start fresh today 🙂 P.S. my training weeks are Monday-Sunday!

    • Big moves will always mess up a schedule! Good!! I’m glad I’m not the only one that used Mon – Sun for a training week. I need to figure out how to change my Garmin so it will start on Monday.

Leave a Reply

