Cauliflower Pizza fail

I’ve been wanting to make a cauliflower crust pizza for a while now.  I’ve read many different recipes and they all seems pretty much the same.  Grate the cauliflower/use a food processor, microwave it a couple of minutes, add egg, add some flower, add some cheese, add some seasoning, spread on pan, and bake.  Sounds pretty simple, right?  I followed the directions and this is what I got.

IMG_3135[1]I’m not quite sure what shape I was going for, maybe an Easter egg? Regardless, so far so good.  At least that’s what I thought for the time being. While I waited for my crust to bake I sautéed some onion, green pepper, spinach, and added some grilled chicken to warm it up.  Most recipes said 10 minutes and the crust would be done.  After 10 minutes it still didn’t look done so I increased the time and waited.  And waited some more.  Finally I decided it would just have to be done because it looked like the edges were starting to burn. I took it out, added my toppings and then put it back in the oven for a few minutes to let the cheese melt.

IMG_3136[1] The finished product looked okay.  It was when I tried to take it off the pan that things fell apart.  Literally.  The flavors were great but I think the crust was too wet.  After making it I looked at some more recipes and of course all of the ones I looked at AFTER suggested ringing out the cauliflower.  Why did none of the one’s a looked at before tell me this??  Oh well, now I know and I will make this again and be successful.  It was still edible and Colin nor Brice complained one bit.

Every recipe I looked at also claimed this was a quick meal.  Maybe I’m just slow or maybe the fact that I had a 13 month old pulling every pan, cutting board, and bottle out of the cabinets while trying to make it.  I thought I’d be able to quickly get this prepped then squeeze in a quick workout, wrong again.  I didn’t want to miss my workout so here’s how I spent my time waiting on my crust to cook!!

workoutI did a couple of rounds of this and felt better that at least I did something!

Have you ever made cauliflower crust? What is your go-to recipe?   

One response to “Cauliflower Pizza fail

  1. Pingback: Weekly roundup | I run He tris·

Leave a Reply

