Not so Thoughtless Thursday

It’s Thursday, only week 2 and I’m already skipping a Thoughtless Thursday.  Yes, it has been a long week and I have plenty of random thoughtless things to share, but something I saw last night got my fired up and I need to vent.  (Colin already had to hear about it this morning)  As I was doing my nightly perusal through Facebook, I saw a picture that just got me so irritated.  The picture was of a plate full of asparagus.  Why would asparagus get me upset?

asparagus

Yes, that’s part of it but that’s besides the point.  The reason I got upset is because that was the dinner.  A plate of asparagus, nothing else.  An entire pound of asparagus cooked with olive oil has about 100 calories.  That is by no means, a proper dinner.  Whatever someone wants to eat is their discretion, but the main reason this plate of asparagus upset me is that this person is ‘leading’ other people to become healthier and lose weight.  Their other meals consist of shakes that, unless they are adding good fats like nut butters or several fruits and veggies, are probably around 200 calories each.  So 200 + 200 + 100 = 500 calories???  That is NO way to lose weight.  Well yes, you will lose weight because you are starving yourself.  No, I am not a nutritionist or a doctor, but I do know that starving your body to lose weight may work in the short-term, but as soon as you start eating ‘normal’ again that weight is going to come right back.  In an ideal world we wouldn’t need these shakes and supplements because people would get all their vitamins and minerals from a proper diet.  You may be thinking “what does she know about a proper diet? She post pictures of giant pizza slices and cookies”  that is because you probably would get very bored with seeing my chicken, sweet potatoes and roasted veggies on a daily basis.

images

Now I understand that I may not be getting the whole picture of this person’s diet because I am only seeing what is getting posted to FB, and I REALLY hope this is the case.  But that also means the people who are being ‘lead’ and ‘challenged’ are only seeing this side too.  There are likely many success stories using these types of shakes and I’m not trying to knock those that use them.  I just know there are a lot of impressionable people who are starting a weight loss/healthy living journey and one thing these people are usually hungry for is information. I hope they are not being fed false information and being setup to fail.  There is nothing better for getting healthy than a well balanced diet and exercise.  Here is a good calorie calculator to give you a rough idea of how many calories you really need.  That calculator isn’t exact because as you learned yesterday how much you move around in a day will really determine your activity level. 

<end rant>

3 responses to “Not so Thoughtless Thursday

  1. Massive pet peeve of mine and I hate seeing people post WIAWs and it’ll have 1200 total calories of food and yet the girl will say she also ran 9 miles that day and lifted weights. It scares me for girls with eating disorders who might see that stuff and be triggered by a supposedly “healthy” athlete with fast times and think that it’s okay when it is so clearly not.

    • Exactly! The girl who was posting it is small already and it worries me that impressionable people will try to follow her.

  2. I agree. I can’t stand fitness gurus that give “health” advice by telling people to count calories. I could live off of candy bars and Mountain Dew and stay under my daily calorie count., but be “skinny fat” and very unhealthy. I firmly believe that you can be a healthy weight by eating a healthy, well-balanced diet, and indulging every now and then.

Leave a Reply

