Weekly roundup

My race yesterday went very, very well!  I’m working on a full race recap which I should have up in the morning.  Other than the race yesterday I did three runs this week (Sunday-Saturday week!)

Sunday:  8-ish miles.  I started my run outside but it was so windy, after about half a mile I decided that it just wasn’t going to work so I turned back and came home. The weather report said it was a steady 25 mph wind with gusts of 37 mph.  I felt like I was standing still!  I did .65 miles outside before I got on the treadmill.  I say 8-ish miles because my watch with foot pod said 7.5 miles but then the treadmill said 7 miles.  I know our treadmill is not 100% accurate so we’ll just stick to 8-ish. 🙂  I kept things nice and steady the whole time and averaged 8:38 min/mile.

IMG_3119

Monday: quick kitchen workout 🙂

Tuesday: Speed work. I normally just do a one mile warm up but I was talking to my mom on the phone so I ended up doing a 2 mile warm up at about 9 min/mile.  My timing was perfect and I ended up at the track right at the end of the two miles.  That’s one thing I love about our neighborhood.  We have a park that has a good playground and a paved quarter mile track that goes around it.

IMG_3145 I didn’t want to have to be constantly checking my watch so I did quarter mile repeats with 1 minute recoveries in between.  My quarter mile splits were: 1:53, 1:50, 1:49, 1:49, 1;48, 1:48, 1:48, 1:47.  I wanted to quit after 4 so then I just kept telling myself I only had to do one more until I ended up doing all 8.  Once done I jogged home and ended up at 5.35 miles.

Wednesday:  Just did some stretching and core work.  Nothing to report on.

Thursday: My new shoes came in the mail today so I had to take them for a test run.  I went and did an easy 5k.  (actually 3.15 because I needed my weekly mileage to end on a nice round number.  Splits were 8:47, 8:46, 8:50 and 8:43 pace for the last .15.  It felt good and it was nice and steady.  I’ll give a full review of the new shoes once I get a few more runs in them.

IMG_3166 Friday: Rest and lots of stretching and foam rolling!

Saturday:  RACE DAY!!!

I ended up doing about 23 miles for the week.  I’m not exactly sure because my Sunday run wasn’t exact and then yesterday I’m not sure how far I ran as a warm up.  I think I’ll just stick with 23.  I’ve been very happy with my runs because my paces have been getting faster and faster.  What used to feel fast for (9 min/mile) is now my warm up pace so I know I’m making progress.

Now for some random happenings from the week….

IMG_3147After the boys were asleep I stayed up and painted my nails and had a delicious glass of Silk chocolate almond milk.  It was awesome until Brice woke up and my nails were still wet…

IMG_3160Chocolate coconut milk ice cream makes putting laundry away much more tolerable.

DSCN3117 Colin was finally able to get outside for a bike ride!  Much better than sitting on the trainer for hours at a time.  I’ll have an update on his training soon!
IMG_3167 Breakfast for dinner and eating it outside is one of the best things.
IMG_3169 Then Brice had his first rugby practice. DSCN3118 Brice thinks he is a big boy and can ride a scooter.  The sweet boys across the street let him at least push it around and pretend!

I hope everyone had a great weekend!!!

4 responses to “Weekly roundup

  1. Can’t wait to read your race recap! Btw you now have me concerned that my treadmill miles are off…I’ve never worn a foot pod on one so I’m not sure!

    • Don’t be worried! Our treadmill was a refurbished one and has been off since day 1!

Leave a Reply

