Thoughtless Thursday – WIAW

It’s Thursday, which is connected to Friday, which is the start of the weekend – YAY!!!  For this episode of Thoughtless Thursday I have decided to do a #WIAW because what could possible take any less thought than telling you what I ate yesterday??

What I Ate Wednesday

Wednesday morning started out with some scrambled eggs made by my personal breakfast chef! What better way to start your day than with a little protein?

IMG_3233[1]

 

In fact, Brice loved them so much he thought rubbing them in his hair and on his face would be a good idea.  My eggs, of course, were accompanied by a delicious cup of Nespresso.

IMG_3245[1]

That was followed up by a mid-morning smoothie.  It was about 16 oz (I always pour some of mine into a sippie cup for Brice to drink of the way to school) with coconut milk, a banana, a handful of frozen fruit mixture (strawberries, peaches, mango and pineapple) and then squeeze in as much spinach as there is room for. Old picture but same smoothie.

IMG_2898[1]

Lunch was rather boring, but still delicious.  About 3/4 of an oven roasted chicken breast that had been marinated overnight in buffalo sauce with a whole bunch of roasted carrots, broccoli, and cauliflower.  This batch of roasted veggies didn’t turn out as well as normal but they still tasted good.  Especially because they were topped of with PaleoChef Maple Mustard sauce.  These sauces are amazing and if you are eating Paleo (or even just healthy!!) they are worth a try.  A friend sent us 6 pack of sauces for Colin’s birthday and the one’s that we have tried have been awesome!

Roasted veggies and chicken

For my post lunch dessert I had a Chobani Strawberry Banana yogurt topped off with a handful of honey Chex.  That picture is from my dessert Tuesday night but it was identical to what I ate today.  The only difference was the witty saying on the lid and the better lighting at home 🙂 This is the only dairy (other than maybe a little cheese here and there) that I eat because of the good probiotics.  I’m trying to convince Colin that I need a yogurt maker so I can make us dairy free yogurt.  One appliance at a time though.

Chobani + Chex

And then for a right-before-I-leave-work snack I had one slice of honey whole wheat bread with a big spoonful of almond butter in it.  This is the fuel I’ll need to get me through my workout tonight!

Justin's Maple Almond ButterColin didn’t get home until late because he had a presentation that is about 2 hours away, so I was on my own for dinner.  Let’s be honest, Brice isn’t much of a help in the kitchen yet.  Unless your goal is to pull everything out of all the cabinets and drawers or take a flyer that came in the mail and rip it into a million pieces, then he is awesome!

IMG_3242[1]

When Colin is not home I usually do a little experimenting for dinner and it usually involves carbs.  We don’t always have bread, so when we do I take full advantage of it.  I made little open-faced sandwiches with sautéed onion and green bell peppers with diced chicken and some Steve’s Paleo Chef Balsamic Tomato sauce.  I first toasted the bread then sliced up some tomatoes, put  a little salt and pepper, topped it off with the onion/pepper/chicken mixture and then put a little bit of cheese on top to hold everything on (not pictured) and put them in the oven for a few minutes.

IMG_3241[1]

Two for me, and one for Brice.  These were delicious and even Brice agreed!  If the kid eats it then I know it’s a success. 🙂 I don’t count calories but I’ve done a rough estimate and my total for the day was around 2,100.  That’s probably pretty standard for most days.  I’ll usually have something for dessert after dinner so that may bump my total up closer to 2,500 those days.  All of the little “how many calories do I need” calculators tell me I need 2,100 calories so I’m spot on.  Days I work out hard, I would throw in some extra calories to make up for it.  I do have a special way I have been burning between 300-500 calories a day for the last 14 months, but that’s a whole other mommy post. 🙂

When I started writing this post I didn’t intend to make a serious point but I think that this just goes to show that you can still eat a lot and lose weight.  No, I’m not trying to lose ANY weight, but all of that food ^ is just over 2,000 calories.  Skip the almond butter sandwich, don’t have two slices of bread with dinner and you could cut out about 500 calories.  If you’re trying to eat health or lose weight, what you put in your body is just as important as how much you put in!

How many meals a day do you eat?  What is your favorite healthy snack?

 

4 responses to “Thoughtless Thursday – WIAW

  1. I only eat 3 meals a day but I just like it better eating 3 bigger meals than many smaller ones. Obviously, I’m not a big snacker 🙂 I’d rather do dessert or go crazy with my dinner than have a random snack but I’m sure I’m in the minority on that!

    • haha thanks! I don’t think my love for the smoothie came through in my facial expression. 🙂

Leave a Reply

