The start of the next chapter

I didn’t decide that I was going to run in the Memorial Day 5k until yesterday morning at about 6:30.  I was waiting to see what my cough was doing before I decided to race.  I didn’t cough at all through the night and when I woke up I could breathe perfectly so I decided to go for it.  Colin was super supportive and pushed back his training so that he could bring Brice down to the race and be there to cheer me on.  I’ll put up a race recap tomorrow when I get the pictures from Colin’s phone.  The race went well but my lungs weren’t 100% so I know it could have gone even better if I didn’t have a little bit of whatever this funk is.  Brice made sure that he got some running in yesterday, too.

IMG_3967

He also made a new fuzzy friend.  His name is Dave and he was a super sweet Great Pyrenees and Boxer mix.  Such an interesting combination!IMG_3968

A brick workout was on the schedule for Colin so after he got back from riding he decided to run on the treadmill.  It was about noon so instead of overheating in the sun he thought running on the treadmill while I talked to him was a better choice.  I agree. 🙂
IMG_3974

Then this little boy passed out for quite a while.  He didn’t nap well Saturday or Sunday so I wasn’t surprised that he was exhausted.  He was fighting sleep as usual and ended up falling asleep sitting with us on the couch.  I may have curled up next to him for a little while.
IMG_3976
Today is a VERY exciting day for me.  I am happy to announce that I am starting a new job today!!!  If you know me you are probably thinking, again?  Friday was sort of my last day at my old job.  I will be going back next week for a little bit to help train and make sure things are all in place.  I started working there back in September, before that I stayed home with Brice for 8 months, and before that I worked at a CPA firm.  When I went back to work after having Brice, Colin and I had said that an ideal position for me would be something where I was not working 40 hours a week.  Colin has a very flexible schedule so it was a bummer when he would have a Friday afternoon off and I would be stuck in the office.

Just a couple weeks ago an opportunity was presented to me. The position was for a part time staff accountant job and after talking to my new bosses I knew this was the perfect for for me! On a personal level my new boss is such an amazing person and family man. The office environment is very laid back and all of my new coworkers seem very friendly. I loved my old job, particularly the lady that hired me. However, she resigned a few weeks ago so my decision to leave was a little easier to make. Even if she was still there, this new opportunity is too good to turn down. It’s going to be the perfect work-life balance that will allow me to take care of errands, cleaning, and laundry that take away from family time. It is also going to allow me to spend more time with Brice and that is always a top priority of mine!

How long have you worked at your current job?
What’s the longest you worked at one place?

 

6 responses to “The start of the next chapter

  1. I feel like I’ve been in school forever with college and grad school (twice!) so my “job” has only been some teaching and loads of research for many years now. Good luck on your first day!!

  2. Your new job sounds like a perfect fit! I really appreciate work environments that are family focused and realize that work is not the most important thing in life : ) I’ve been at my job for just over a year and a half. It’s by first “big girl” job haha.

    • Work is far from the most important thing in life! If only I could make a living out of running and eating all day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

