The weekend: picture edition

We spent our weekend visiting Colin’s parents. They live 3.5 hours north of us and we had a fun and busy weekend. Here is a glimpse of what we did.

We got on the road before I ate lunch so we made a stop at Chick-fil-a. I couldn’t resist getting an ice dream and then this weird but good combo was necessary.

20140601-125118.jpg
The reason I didn’t eat before we left the house was because we wanted to make sure Brice didn’t fall asleep before we left. Food still in hand, I’d say he was pretty tired.

20140601-125259.jpg
Pretty much as soon as we got there we said ‘hey, now let’s run.’ I spent my Friday evening hanging out with these guys for 5 miles. I can think of worse ways to spend an evening!

20140601-125604.jpg
We enjoyed most of our meals outside.

20140601-125719.jpg
Then we drove up to Atlanta to go to the South African store so we could stock up on lots of goodies.

20140601-125842.jpg
From there we headed over to Big Peach Running Co and I somehow ended up with new shoes and several pairs of socks. A whole post coming on that later this week!

20140601-130103.jpg
Next we headed over to the Dekalb Farmers Market where I ate the most random lunch ever. While there we enjoyed a lot of people watching!

20140601-130250.jpg
When we got back to the house we wanted to get out and go for a golf cart ride. We went up to the lake to say hey to the ducks.

20140601-130925.jpg
These ducks weren’t as friendly as the ducks from a few weeks ago! The ride was fun until it started raining while we were still quite a ways from the house!

20140601-131045.jpg
We grilled out that night and had some friends over. We ate some traditional South African food that Colin had been in the mood for. I’ll share all those South African eats with you later. My one request for the trip was that we eat at Buckner’s on the way back home. This place serves you on a lazy Susan and it’s all typical southern food. So simple but so, so good!

20140601-131326.jpg

20140601-131337.jpg
Now we’re on our way back home so that Colin can get in his brick workout!

What was the highlight of your weekend?
Any specials requests you have when you visit family?

6 responses to “The weekend: picture edition

  1. Wow, that sounds like a fantastic couple of days. And Chick fil a fries and ice dream are a match made in heaven. They are the best of both worlds, so it is only natural that they would be amazing together. One of my favorite things ever as well is to get an ice dream cone and a diet coke and go back and forth from one to the other. Basically, a deconstructed coke float.
    I actually love traditional South African food! Alex and I were introduced to it at a Charlottesville restaurant called The Shebeen. I adore the use of spice in SA food. I can’t wait to hear about what you all cooked up!
    And oh, the Dekalb Farmer’s Market. Talk about making me homesick!

    • That deconstructed coke float sounds delicious! I have to admit it was my in-laws that did all the cooking. 🙂 But hey if you want traditional better let the natives do it!

Leave a Reply

