Where is it hiding? – My sugar detox

 

Over the last several weeks I have been really focusing on my sugar intake.  I LOOOOVE chocolate and sweet, but we intentionally do not keep those types of things in our house because we will eat them all in one sitting.  If we’re in the mood for a sweet, then we’ll either buy a single candy bar or go out and get one dessert.  This is not the type of sugar intake I am talking about though.  I’m talking about the hidden sugars in food.  Thing that you think are more on the healthy side, and then you look at the nutritional value and SUGAR OVERLOAD!!  Some of the things that really surprised me where the 11 grams of sugar in my Kashi cereal, the 7 grams of sugar per cup of my Silk Almondmilk, and the 22 grams of sugar in my favorite Chobani Almond Coco Loco greek yogurt.  I thought I was taking the healthy option with having greek yogurt for dessert, but I would have eaten just as much sugar as if I had a pack of M&Ms!  To put this into perspective, the World Health Organization recommends that people with a normal Body Mass Index only consume 25 grams of sugar per day.  I have been going way over this amount without even eating, what would be considered, sugary and sweet food.

On Monday, Jessica over at rUnladylike posted about doing a 7-Day Sugar Detox.  Since sugar had been on my mind I thought this would be the perfect thing to join in on.  She is doing a bread and sugar detox, but I’m not feeling THAT daring.

Sugar Detox

Here is what she is incorporating in her detox that I also will be following (well 95% will be following)

  • No food with ingredients containing sugar, including ingredients such as cane juice, cane sugar and other names for sugar on product labels
  • No dried fruit
  • No more than 2 servings of whole fruit per day
  • No alcoholic beverages that contain sugar, like wine, flavored beers, etc.
  • Items that are excluded from the detox are necessary sports performance items, such as Generation UCAN, Vega Sport Recovery Accelerator and Salted Caramel GUs

The reason I said that I am following this 95% is because I am still going to allow myself to have 1 tbsp of my Coffee Mate in my coffee in the mornings.  That 1 tbsp has 5 grams of sugar in it.  I’m not crazy enough to cut out sugar AND my much needed coffee in the same week and I don’t do black coffee.

sugar-detoxsource

I am not doing this because I feel the need to cut calories or for any other weight loss reason.  I doubt I’ll even see any weight loss from this.  I am more curious about how I will feel with cutting out all that extra sugar I didn’t even realize I was eating in the first place.  7 days, no sugar.  I can do this.  In the end it’s only 7 days and I’m always up for a good challenge!  So from 12 am Saturday the 14th through 11:59 pm Friday the 20th I am going to be (basically) sugar free.  Don’t’ worry, I stuffed my face with M&Ms last night to make sure that I got my fix before starting this detox. 🙂  Check back next Saturday to see how my week went and if I noticed any differences!

Have you ever done a sugar detox or any other kind of detox?

How did you feel once the week was over?

 

9 responses to “Where is it hiding? – My sugar detox

  1. I would get no calories if I did this, lol. But power to you. I try to be balanced, in general–I have ice cream every night, and candy on and off throughout the day, so I try to make sure that the foods that I eat beyond that are low in sugar and I also only have a few pieces of candy when I do–I can’t remember the last time I straight up ate a candy bar or full bag of m&Ms.
    Good luck!

  2. Yep, I’ve done a detox and after a week your stomach feels thin and you feel weightless 🙂 The first few days can be tough especially if your body detoxes hard core. Happy to see someone else joining the no sugar bandwagon!

    • I don’t think I ate enough sugar for my body to go through too bad of a detox, or at least I hope not. I hope I feel as good as you describe at the end of the week!

  3. You can do it! I cut out all processed things when I ate very strict paleo. It was expensive and tough at first, but the results were soooo worth it. I felt so much better all the time.

    • I’m thinking if I can avoid things that come out of a box then I’ll be good. I guess I could just say I’m strict Paleo for the week. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Workouts of the Week 6/16 – 6/22 + Detox results | I run He tris·

Leave a Reply

