Thoughtless Thursday- South Africa: Cape Town Part 1

Make sure to check out Parts 1, 2 & 3 if you haven’t already seen those!!  When I left off last Thursday we were leaving Colin’s grandmother’s house and heading to Cape Town.  When Colin and I lived in South Africa we lived in Cape Town and this was my first time back since July of 2010.  There were so many emotions about going back but mostly I was SUPER excited!!!  Lucky for you, I’m not feeling very wordy this morning so I’ll give a brief description followed by each set of pictures.  These are from our first three days in Cape Town.

As soon as we got in town we check into our apartment that we were renting then dropped the boys off at the Bachelor’s party.  Kathryn and I had no idea where we were going (we were told to go to one place that didn’t exist) so we just drove until we found a cute restaurant on the beach.  We both got some coffee and watched the sun set.  After drinking our coffee we headed back to pick up the boys so we could go visit with some old friends!IMG_3512 IMG_3531 IMG_3532 IMG_3549 First thing on Sunday morning Colin and I drove to meet his parent’s at his uncle’s house so they could babysit for us.  On the schedule for the day was a hike up Table Mountain!!  The total hike was a little over 2 miles up, but I don’t remember the elevation gain.  Colin and I have done this hike several times, and I must say it was harder than I remembered. 🙂  Turning around and seeing this view of the city made it worth it!  We had planned on abseiling/rappelling down part of the way but when we got to the top it was pretty windy and the boys didn’t feel comfortable with it.  We rode the cable car back down to the bottom.IMG_3142 IMG_3149 IMG_3154 IMG_3164 IMG_3173 IMG_3188 IMG_3192 IMG_3197 IMG_3200 After hiking table mountain we went and got Brice then headed to the Waterfront to watch the ITU triathlon!!!  This was SO much fun to watch.  The top Olympic triathletes were racing and, man, these guys are fast!  We asked a lady to take our picture and I guess she didn’t like Matt very much.IMG_3218 IMG_3216 We had an EEEEEAAARRLLLYY morning the next day.  We had an appointment to go cage diving with Apex!!  Colin’s parents helped us out by coming to where we were staying so Brice could sleep in.  We met up with our group on the pier and climbed aboard.  Only 3 could fit in the cage at a time so Matt, Kathryn and I went first!  Colin went with another couple and they went right after us.  To say we were cold is an understatement.  The water was about 50 degrees but when you see a 10 foot Great White Shark coming at you, you forget about the cold.  After everyone had their turn in the cage (you could stay in pretty much as long as you wanted) we took a trip around Seal Island (which stunk) and then went to catch up with a pod of about 500 dolphins.  I’m not sure which was more exciting- the sharks or the dolphins! They were both that neat!IMG_3224 IMG_3227 IMG_3239 IMG_3244 IMG_3245 IMG_3250  IMG_3256 IMG_3269 IMG_3276 IMG_3287 IMG_3294  IMG_3307 IMG_3318 IMG_3320 IMG_3327

I told you I wasn’t feeling very wordy but I really can’t say enough good things about this experience.  The crew and the skipper of the boat were so knowledgeable and so passionate about what they did.  When working with nature you never know what you are going to see.  They can’t control how many sharks come close to the boats, but they knew so much about each animal we saw out there.

Our first three days were so exciting and set us up to have a great time in Cape Town!!  Check back next week for the next part of our trip!

Are you an adrenaline junkie?  What is the ‘wildest’ thing you’ve done?

Sharks, seals, dolphins, etc. what is your favorite sea animal? 

11 responses to “Thoughtless Thursday- South Africa: Cape Town Part 1

    • I must agree that it was the coolest trip ever. 🙂 It’s going to be hard to ever top it!

  1. Oh my gosh, I would LOVE to go cage diving. I have a completely irrational fish phobia, but would love to swim with the sharks and dolphins. Weird, right? I am soooo jealous.

    • I always love seeing dolphins too! We saw a mama and a tiny baby last summer it possibly is the cutest thing I’ve ever seen.

  2. Pingback: Thoughtless Thursday – South Africa: Cape Town Part 2 | I run He tris·

  3. Pingback: Thoughtless Thursday- South Africa: Cape Town Part 3 | I run He tris·

Leave a Reply

