WIAW – What I Ate Whenever

I’ve been in a bit of a blogging slump lately.  I feel like I’m a broken record but I have so many ideas to write about and then when I actually find a second to sit down either the words don’t come or the ideas fly out of my head!  One thing that has not flown from my brain is the yummy food we have been eating lately!  Being that it’s Wednesday, and everyone likes to share what they ate on this day I’m going to share some of the delicious things we have made lately. I’m trying something new today and linking up with Jenn from Peas and Crayons for my version of WIAW!

WIAWbutton

Several weeks ago Colin and I signed up for a Subscription Garden Program.  Once a week we have a big brown bag of locally grown food delivered to our door.  The food varies week-to-week based on the season, and what their crops are doing.  Each week we get a combination of fruit, vegetables, potatoes, herbs, eggs, and occasionally a canned product (ex. squash relish.) It has been so fun because you never know what you are going to get until it’s delivered.  This has made us come up with some different recipes based on what we received that week.

IMG_4454

This is a picture of our very first delivery. With this one we received a HUGE bag full of basil.  Basil isn’t something that we eat regularly but I quickly thought about Pesto sauce!  On my next stop by the store I bought some pine nuts and made my first ever batch of Pesto.

IMG_4653

 

I looked up a recipe to see what the basil to pine nut ratio (2 cups basil and 1/3 cup pine nuts) was, but other than that I just winged it and added some salt, olive oil, and garlic until it looked/tasted right. It came out really good and we just ate it with some pasta! Another item that we got in our bag, that I had no idea what to do with, was eggplant.  I’ve had eggplant prepared a few different ways and I was not a fan of any of them!  The texture was just always too mushy for me.  I came up with the idea of eggplant fries and did a quick search and found a recipe!  Like with everything else I make, I loosely followed it.  First, I chopped off the ends of the eggplant, then sliced it up into approximately 1/2 inch “fries.” Next, I got out three little bowls and put flour in the first (plus some salt and pepper), two lightly beaten eggs in the third, and a bread crumb and parmesan cheese mixture in the third.  Then, I dipped the eggplant in the three bowls (flour -> egg -> breadcrumbs) and placed each piece onto of a wire rack that was in a cookie sheet.  Then I cooked them on 425 degrees for about 15 minutes or until golden brown and crispy.  Y’all, these things were DELICIOUS!!!!  Baking them on that high heat dried them out and took away the texture I don’t like.  I will be making these again soon.

IMG_4998

One of our bags had several large carrots in it.  The only thing I typically do with carrots is eat them raw, and then they are baby carrots.  At the time we had a lot of fresh fish from our fishing expedition and I knew I wanted to make some fish tacos.  I don’t know about you, but my favorite topping for a fish taco is a nice, fresh cole slaw.  I thought the carrots would make the perfect addition!  I cleaned up the carrots (since they still had dirt on them from being pulled out of the ground!) and grated a few of them up and added them into my slaw.  Once again, I don’t use a set recipe for my slaw.  This one involved cabbage, carrots, apple cider vinegar, greek yogurt, and several spices. Then I topped it all off with some mango salsa!

IMG_4792 This service has been really fun to me because I like to try out new recipes and new techniques of cooking our food.  In our quest to eat healthy the majority of the time, I feel like we get complacent and eat the same things over and over again.  This can get boring and when we get bored we don’t want healthy food.  We always have a goal to not let any food go to waste.  That is very easy when we just buy enough food for the week and know what to do with the food we buy, but we have to get creative when we get items that we’ve never cooked before!  If you have this type of program in your area I highly recommend you give it a try.  It’s fun, it’s healthy, and it helps support your local farmers!!  Now I need to get back to searching for what to do with this bag of figs I received…

What is the most exotic (to you) ingredient that you have used recently?

Where do you do your grocery shopping? Bulk store, chain grocery, local grocery, farmer’s market, grow it yourself??

 

8 responses to “WIAW – What I Ate Whenever

  1. I’ve thought about joining one of those subscription produce programs, but just never have. I was always scared it would be too much food, but at least it’s too much of a good thing and would force me to eat more fruits and veggies.

    • We have really enjoyed it!! There are 2 (and a half) of us eating the food so it’s been a perfect amount.

  2. That’s cool. I like that they always put a ‘surprise’ in it. Don’t have anything weird I ate lately. When it comes to food, I’m pretty blah. For egg plant, grilling them is a good option too!

    • I’ll have to try grilling the egg plant if we get more. And by I’ll try I really mean I’ll make Colin do it because sadly I do not know how to start our grill…

  3. I would dive into that bag and never come up for air! I have a great eggplant lasagna recipe that I need to write and put up, but first I need to get me some of the stuff!
    I’m in a little bit of slump, too. I’m really falling hard on my structure to help me through, and little moments of “genius” but I think that it is showing. Le sigh….

    • I still enjoy reading whatever your brain spews out! I need to get some sort of structure going for those days when I can’t think of anything worthy to talk about.

    • I highly recommend those eggplant fries! Oo what kind of cheese did you add to the pesto?

Leave a Reply

