Does this make me famous?

There is one thing that I know for sure: I am competitive.  This is not something I have tried to hide. In fact, I poked fun at myself just the other day that I tried something new which was running in an organized race just for fun.  This competitive nature is nothing new.  I have been this way my whole life, and I’m pretty sure it’s genetic.  Games of Chutes and Ladders and Monopoly got a little heated in our house.  If you challenge me, I’m going to do my best to win.

IMG_5172

Don’t worry!  You’ll get the full details of this pizza challenge in next week’s WIAW.  I can remember my volleyball coach sitting us down one time and asking us if we wanted to win or if we wanted to have fun.  I thought that was the craziest question ever because didn’t those go hand in hand?  How do you have fun losing?  (Another reason I like running because you are constantly competing against yourself and your previous times but that’s a whole nother story)  When I first got my Skip-it (if you didn’t have a Skip It growing up, I’m sorry) I would stay outside and practice until I mastered it.  Same thing with riding my bike.  Some people view being competitive as a negative, but for me, it always pushes me to be the best ME I possibly can be.  So when Buzzfeed came out with their list of 21 Secrets Overly Competitive People Will Never Tell You, I couldn’t stop laughing and shaking my head.

IMG_5169

 

I had several people send that link to me and tell me that I really needed to check out number 3 on the list.  So I started reading and got to number three and BAM:

IMG_5168

Does this make me famous?? I could not stop laughing when I saw that my Instagram post had been used in the Buzzfeed list.  I’m pretty sure it was my hashtag of #toocompetitive that was used to discover me.  Or maybe it was #itsalwaysarace.  I’ll have to get my agent to contact Buzzfeed to find out.  I will be signing autographs this weekend, so just let me know if you want one.   I’ll leave you with some wise words from an incredibly wise man…

ricky-bobby-if-you-aint-first

 

On a scale of 1-10 how competitive are you? (with yourself or others)

Favorite Buzzfeed listing I need to check out?

Most importantly: do I need to send you an autograph?

5 responses to “Does this make me famous?

  1. Yes, send me an autograph. I used to be very competitive, and I definitely still have it in me, but I have mellowed out a ton. I would say I’m a 6-7, but it depends on what it is. I don’t think that I have to be the best, but I definitely have to be right/good/grade A, if that makes sense.

  2. You know you have made it in the world when you appear on a BuzzFeed article! I keep praying I appear on one for crazy Harry Potter fans. I’m competitive about certain things, but as a whole pretty low competitive. I like the planning part of being competitive. You know, planning out how to take down your competitors.

Leave a Reply

