Finally a moment to breathe

Last week was crazy, especially since it was a short work week.  Brice had a doctor’s appointment on Tuesday, I had one on Wednesday, Thursday night we hosted supper club, and on Friday I went out of town for a bachelorette party.   Saturday night was nice and quiet because Colin and I were both pretty tired, plus I kept thinking it was Sunday since I was gone Friday night.  That way Sunday felt like a bonus weekend day!  I had full intentions of writing this post last night (Sunday) but once I put Brice in his bed he immediately woke back up and wanted to hang out for another 30 minutes so there went my blogging time!  It is now Monday morning and I have my delicious coffee with pumpkin spice creamer in it and all feels right.  Here is a little life update…

-With the extra busy week last week, I did not work out once during the week.  Between travelling, doctors appointments, and cleaning/cooking there just wasn’t time.  I think this was a good rest week for my foot though because I did run 6.2 miles plus walked an extra mile on Saturday morning without even thinking about my foot.  It was a little tight and uncomfortable once my body cooled down, but I wouldn’t describe it as painful.  I got to run with Amanda who I did like 98% of my long runs with last fall and I have to say nice things about her because she actually read my blog. 🙂

 

 

-Yesterday marked 3 weeks to go for Colin’s Ironman.  Holy moly.  I can’t believe it is so close and I get nervous butterflies just thinking about it!!  With his training he still has a pretty full week with a lot of running and a long brick on Saturday (4 hours bike, 1.5 hour run) and then after that it is taper time for the last two weeks.  I just need to take a minute to brag on him and his training.  He has been so incredibly dedicated to his training for this Ironman and I am SOOO proud of him.  Yes, there have been some lows where motivation seemed to be lacking but he has stayed so focused and kept his eyes on the prize.  If you are around him for 2 minutes you would see that he is very high energy, and sometimes I feel he has the attention span of a goldfish, but he was remained so focused for his training.  Dedication is wearing your helmet to the dinner table.

IMG_5243[1]

-Brice has been absolutely hysterical lately.  He has been talking more and more and when he wants something, he will not accept anything else.  He says he wants milk, you better get that boy some milk.  I think his favorite word right now is Mama (which I am totally okay with) and he says it no less than 1,600 times a day.  He is getting really good at saying a lot of individual words, but if you ask him to say the words together he basically says ‘beebopboobopboo’  A perfect example is the word football. He can say foot and he can say ball, but if you tell him to say football he says beeball.  I love it.  I must say his most impressive word is ‘elepant’ (elephant).  His little personality and imagination are getting bigger and bigger each day.  Yesterday morning he was pretending his hands were stuck in the cup holder of his high chair tray.  He would put both hands in and say ‘stuck! help!’ so I’d go over and pull them out for him to get stuck again a few seconds later.

IMG_5323[1]

-Our house is finally starting to look like grown ups live in it.  I need to take some updated pictures and share a few of the little decorations I’ve thrown together.  I’m still saving our bedroom for last because I can’t decide what I want to do in there.  Brice’s room was the first room (and only one for a while) to be completely done and I’m already wanting to redo it.  We decorated it very neutral because we didn’t know if we were having a boy or a girl but now I want to turn it into a perfect little boys rooms full of airplanes, cars and trucks.

-Big news: I’m on Twitter @irunhetris.  I have no idea what I’m doing sooo does anyone want to give me Twitter 101 lesson??  I also just got Snap Chat so I’m just a few years late to the game.

-I’m getting to take part in two online workout classes this week and I’m really exited about them.  I’ll have a review and a ***GIVEAWAY*** up next week!!

Who is on Twitter??  Tell me so I can follow you and then you give me a lesson

 

10 responses to “Finally a moment to breathe

  1. ooo ooo follow me! @suzlyfe I am glad that Colin is taking safety so seriously, even at breakfast. You can’t let your guard down, especially not when you are so freaking close! I know how he feels…. That is too funny that Brice can’t combine those two words. Obviously, he will get it, but that is so interesting how brains develop like that. It seems so simple, but it really is a huge hurdle for them in terms of their development!
    It sounds like you could use some time to breathe. Hoping that this forced rest has given your food some much needed time to think about what is good for it!

    • I begged him to take the helmet off and he refused. Safety first!! You never know what types of things will come flying at you while eating. My foot has been feeling much better. I guess it wised up because it knew I would be very unhappy with it otherwise. 🙂

    • Thanks! We’re in the home stretch and the nerves are starting to come out. PS- Happy belated birthday!!

  2. Sometimes you just need a break from working out. Even if it was because you were preoccupied with other things. Once you get back into the swing of things it feels great. Too funny him wearing his helmet at dinner table. Even though he will be wearing it much longer race day.

    • You are exactly right, after taking last week off I have been extra motivated this week. I think it was just what I needed!

Leave a Reply

