Workouts of the Week- 9/08-9/14

Happy Monday everyone!  I hope you had a great weekend.  Mine went nothing as I originally planned, but it was still an amazing weekend.  We had some friends come in town (the same couple that went with us to Haines City 70.3) and it was great to be able to catch up with them.  He is training for Augusta 70.3, which is the same weekend as Colin’s race, and she is training for her first half marathon!!!  She’s running the Savannah Rock n Roll so I can’t wait to cheer her on at the race!  Since we were too busy having fun, things like laundry and dishes just didn’t happen over the weekend.  I’m okay with that because they will still be there when I get home from work today.  Last week was an awesome training week for me, and finally share-worthy.  After taking a few weeks off from triathlon training before transitioning into half marathon training was just what my body needed.  That weird pain in my foot is completely gone and I’m mentally and physically ready to work hard for the rest of the year.  One thing that can’t be left out is that Colin’s Ironman is in 13 days.  WHAT??  He is officially in taper mode, even though his tapering is probably more than I’ll do all week, and we’re both excited for September 28th to roll around!!  Here is a glimpse at my workouts from last week…

20140706-153651.jpg

 

Monday- Speed work.  There was rain in the forecast, which also meant it wasn’t unbearably hot outside.  I decided to run as long as I could outside before the storm got too close.  I did a 10 minute warm up then was able to get 4×400 at 1:42 with 90 seconds recovery in between outside and then did another 4×400 at 1:42 with 60 seconds of recovery in between and a 7 minute cool down on the treadmill.  I ran outside until I heard thunder then took it inside to stay safe.  I got a total of 5 miles out of the workout!

speedwork

Tuesday- I got to participate in a beta testing for an online workout class this morning.  30 minutes of Cardio Fusion.  I’ll have a full recap/review and giveaway up on this tomorrow!!!

Wednesday-  Once again I split my workout up between outside and the treadmill.  I was going to do a tempo run and wanted to do it outside but it was just too darn hot.  I compromised and did a 1.8 mile warm up outside then jumped on the treadmill.  I did another .2 warm up on the treadmill and then started on half mile repeats.  I did my repeats at a 7:40 pace with .1 mile recovery in between at about a 8:30 pace.  The warm up, 4 half mile repeats, the recoveries and then a cool down got me to another 5 mile run!  My watch died during the cool down so it was nice to be on the treadmill so I knew what I was doing.

picstitch

Thursday- I participated in the second beta test class and this time it was Tabata Max.  I can’t wait to share more about my experience with y’all!

Friday- Rest day.  Unless you consider putting fresh sheets on beds, vacuuming, scrubbing bathtubs and cleaning floors a workout.  Parts of that felt like a workout to me!

Saturday- I was supposed to do an 8 mile run today but I knew before that it just wasn’t going to happen.  Colin had his last hard workout that morning so I was going to be pushing the stroller for my run.  The good thing is that our friend that was staying with us also needed to do 8 miles so I ran with her until Brice decided that he had enough of being in the stroller.  I forgot to recharge my watch after it died on Wednesday so I don’t really know how far I ran but I think it was around mile 3.5 that he started getting antsy so I turned off to head home while our friend finished out her 8 miles.  So I ended up doing what I think was a little over 4 miles.  Brice thought playing with Legos was more fun that riding in the stroller.  Colin and our friend went out for ~70 mile ride and Colin had to run 90 minutes afterwards.  Our friend ran about 30 with him and then Colin asked me to ride my bike with him so I could carry ice water.  It was around 12:00 so the sun was blazing hot by this point.  I rode around the neighborhood with Colin for about another 30 minutes and then he came home and finished up on the treadmill.  It was fun to get on my bike even if it was just for a leisurely ride and made me realize I’ve missed it the last few weeks!

IMG_5457[1]

Sunday- I didn’t have any set workout in place for today.  Colin participated in the TCT7 Swim, which is a local swim of either 1 3.5 or 7 miles.  It is a non-profit even where all the proceeds go back into our community through various outlets and is to help honor and remember the life taken too soon.  Check out the website for the inspiring story of James Eunice and what the swim is all about.  Anywho after doing the swim Colin had planned on riding his bike back to our house with some other people.  On the way home Brice ended up falling asleep in the car so I got creative with my phone and the iPad.  I FaceTimed myself and left my phone in the car (with it still running for AC) and I got on the treadmill.  Our treadmill is in the garage so I was right next to the car, but this way I would be able to hear exactly when Brice woke up.  By the time I got changed and the iPad all set up I was only able to run two miles, but hey it’s better than nothing!

DSCN4123

Speed work, Tempo, or Long runs- which is your favorite?

Group fitness people- what is your favorite group fitness class?

 

 

9 responses to “Workouts of the Week- 9/08-9/14

  1. being a sprinter all my life, you’d think I’d say speed work. But long runs I tend to lose myself and end up being my best runs. Go figure.

  2. omg you and those legos. LOVE IT. WOO for being in taper! I am 3 weeks out. One more long run. But my quads and legs are feeling it (it being fatigue) right now. No idea why. It is so unfathomable to me that you are dealing with heat. When I got up to meet Mo on Saturday, it was in the 40s!!! Goodness. I love the preparations for the first half marathon. It is such a cool and kind of magical time.
    I’m a hit my pace and cruise kind of lady. Regardless of distance! That said, I did bust it out on Thursday this past week. I have NO CLUE where it came from.
    But it was legit.

    • My house is going to be taken over by Legos before I know it! Only 3 more weeks? It seems like it has gone by so quickly! I had to read that again to make sure I wasn’t seeing things. The 40s?? It felt like it was 98 degrees here yesterday afternoon. I’m a fan of the long run too. I feel like I get better the longer I run and getting in that groove and going feels oh so nice!

    • I’ve been seeing pictures of snow and cold weather all over the internet and it’s making me confused!! I’m hoping this cooler weather (and by cooler I mean not in the 90s) sticks around for us!

  3. Pingback: A running update with some weekend fun | I run He tris·

Leave a Reply

