I’m finally back- Thinking Out Loud

Thursdays are for Thinking Out Loud and I’m trying out something new today called ‘actually waking up early to be a more productive person’ so let’s hope the things I’m thinking actually make some sort of sense!  Thanks as usual to Amanda for hosting!

20140925-023907.jpg

 

-I’m over being sick.  I’m finally over the whole bacterial stomach infection thing, but while my immune system was at rock bottom I picked up a nasty cold.  Today marks two weeks of being sick and I’ve had enough. I have taken more medicine in the last week than I probably have in the last 2 years just because I want to be 100% better again.

-I think I have finally caught up on sleep.  The antibiotics they gave me for my stomach gave me insomnia.  I’ve never experienced that before but last Wednesday night we were at Colin’s parents house, a pit stop heading up to Chattanooga, and I woke up at 12:45 and completely wide awake.  Then I realized I was hungry after not eating for a week so around 1:30 I got up and went and ate a bowl of cereal.  This was probably on of the weirdest things I’ve done in a while.

IMG_5553

-I’m still trying to process the fact that Colin’s Ironman is over.  We had the absolute best time up in Chattanooga and I can’t wait to get back up there an do some more exploring.  I’ll probably have an overload of pictures for you tomorrow.  I’ll be working on a race recap this weekend when I can get Colin to help me out.

IMG_5581

-Yesterday was the first exercise I had done in 2 weeks.  I got out and did 3.5 miles yesterday and it felt great!  I didn’t have any expectations because I know my body is still recovering and on the mend, but I NEEDED to go for a run.  While we were in Chattanooga I walked at least 12 miles, so we were very active, but nothing compares to getting your heart rate up and those endorphins that come with it.

IMG_5748

-I have a 15k run two weeks from this Saturday, so I REALLY need to get over this cold like right now.  I’m going to try and do 6 miles this weekend then 7-8 next weekend so that I will feel ready to run in the race.  I ended up not running in the 10K up in Chattanooga (which I am very bummed about but it was a smart decision) so I will not let this race go by too.  Plus, the Savannah Rock n Roll is only 5 weeks away!

-Yesterday was October 1st which means Brice is 20 months old.  I feel like that can’t be true and my math is way off.  20 months just sounds so much older!!  He is talking up a storm now and I can actually understand about 75% of it.  We had to celebrate his turning 20 months with a banana muffin covered in sprinkles!!

IMG_5751

It is now time for an extra large cup of coffee and a shower.  Speaking of extra coffee, Colin bought some of the World’s Strongest Coffee a few weeks ago and I am scared to even smell it.  It has some insane amount of caffeine in it and I cannot imagine that it is good for you to drink it.  I think I’ll be sticking to my trusty ole’ Karibou coffee.

-Coffee: yay or nay? If yay, what kind of coffee maker do you use?  If nay, how do you survive??

-Any go to cold remedies??

12 responses to “I’m finally back- Thinking Out Loud

  1. Coffee is an of course, but half caff otherwise I explode. I have the coffee maker that also does hot water 😀
    Stop. Being. Sick. Dammit.

    • haha I KNOW! I’m just hoping my body is going ahead and getting these sicknesses out of the way and I’ll be good to go the rest of the fall/winter.

  2. Ugh that’s horrible about the sickness — hope you feel better soon! And coffee is a definite YAY around these parts… I use a Keurig at home, but I’m usually running out to Starbucks since it’s about 2 mins from my front door 😆

    • Thanks! haha that sounds like me. We have a Keurig at home but a Starbucks 30 seconds from my office. It’s hard to resist!

    • Picture or it didn’t happen! 🙂 What else was I supposed to do to entertain myself without waking everyone else up?

    • I’ve heard that before but never tried it. Maybe I need to start taking extra zinc to prevent from getting sick again!

Leave a Reply

